If you drive in Albuquerque, or even if you drive in Las Cruces or Rio Rancho or anywhere else in New Mexico, you better be aware of the fact that insurance is mandatory in the state. As your independent agent, I can help you to stay up to date on the insurance requirements and make sure that you stay legal while driving in the state of New Mexico.
Drivers in New Mexico are required to have liability insurance. The exact minimums consist of two parts: bodily injury liability and property damage liability. For bodily injury or death, motorists need to have at least $25,000 of coverage for each person (up to a maximum of $50,000) and for property damage, you would need an insurance policy with $10,000 in coverage.
You cannot register a vehicle in New Mexico if you do not have proof of insurance. Some of the documents you could get from your independent agent to prove that you are insured include an insurance card, a copy of your auto insurance policy or a letter from your insurance company that verifies your coverage. Again, some type of proof of insurance is mandatory.
If the authorities find out that your vehicle doesn’t meet the mandatory insurance requirements, you will end up having the registration for that vehicle suspended. From there, you will face criminal penalties if you attempt to drive the vehicle without getting it insured and getting the registration updated.
As an independent agent who services Las Cruces, Rio Rancho, Albuquerque and a number of other communities in New Mexico, I can keep you up to date on New Mexico auto insurance law and make sure that you meet the mandatory minimum coverage requirements as well as make sure you have whatever further coverage you need to keep you feeling safe and comfortable.